More Detailed Textures

Topics: User Forum
Jan 15, 2007 at 8:54 PM
Hey,

I love your component. It has been a great learning tool for me, although a little tough going in parts.

Would it be possible for you to explore, or just chat here, with ideas concerning adding a higher level of detail to the terrains?

I'm a bit of a noob, so I'm not sure what the norm is... I guess my idea centers around creating a texture file 10 to 20 times larger than the heightmap image. This would obviously then exceed the maximum texture size XNA / Video hardware would support (in my case it does anyway, learnt from experience!), and then using some partitioning algorithm to automatically partition the large image file into say, 4 smaller ones and then lay these over the appropriate sections of the generated terrain.

Any ideas how this could be done / how it's achieved normally?

Cheers!
Coordinator
Jan 16, 2007 at 3:18 AM
I'm not an expert on terrain detailing, but I have done it in the past where I use a smaller texture (say, 256x256) that is repeated over top of the large texture. This gives a grit like effect. You can get the general look (snow, sand, dirt, grass) feel in the large texture then repeat the grit every sector (16x16 pixels in the heightmap) with an alpha or some other type blending.
Another idea that I was thinking of, is using a pixel shader that bump mapped using some fast noise function. That would give detail that would respond to where the light (sun?) was coming from. I haven't yet found a really fast noise function, so it would need to be a normal map (bump map?) that the shader used.