The planetary terrain guy

Topics: User Forum
Dec 31, 2006 at 2:01 AM
I think that's going to end up being my unofficial nickname wherever I go regarding XNA.

So here's the deal: I'm a beginning 3D programmer obsessed with recreating his own version of Frontier. Full scale planets, accurately moving solar systems, and the seamless transition between space and surface are my obsessions.

I've read dozens of articles on terrain engines and they all come back to quadtrees. I understand the concept of what it is: a way of breaking up the world into standard-sized chunks to quickly calculate a player's position or determine how to distribute triangles for LOD calculations.

I've done all the tutorials on terrain I can find, but none of the concepts are making it through my incredibly dense skull (or they're not explaining it so well). Is there a better explanation for how to use quadtrees to generate and store terrain out there?

I am very desperate for a guide to this sort of thing that makes sense and helps me reach my goal (and, optimally, is designed to run in C# with the advantage of Microsoft's new XNA tools). Thank you in advance for your help (or, alternately, for not flaming this poor n00b).
Coordinator
Dec 31, 2006 at 5:17 AM
jordanrober
That's been my goal too. To fly in from outerspace, through the clouds and turbulence, to see the distant landscape and zoomd down on the unsuspecting enemy and take them out. All without a hitch, pause or glitch.

Quadtrees are not hard, but they are recursive, which means, getting your head around how they work is like your mouth telling your mouth to tell your mouth to say something :)

okay, i'll give it a go.....

quad means 4. thats where the name quadtrees comes from. (you know this).
divide the landscape (whatever size) into 4 pieces, that is, divide it in half so you have north/south peices then those in half for east/west peices, thats 4, NW NE SW SE.